Community News

Atlantic Salmon Museum to Honour Local Fishermen

Two local guides will be honoured at the Atlantic Salmon Museum’s 33rd Annual Hall of Fame Dinner and Induction Ceremony on Saturday, October 1 at the Doaktown Curling Club, 29 Prospect Street.

Gary Colford

Gary Colford

Beginning at 4:30 pm with a Meet n’ Mingle and followed by a buffet dinner and the induction ceremony itself, this annual event is always a memorable one that combines a variety of silent, Chinese and live auctions, great food and, in particular, heartfelt tributes to the men and women whose lives have been intertwined with that of the Atlantic salmon.

This year, guides Gary Colford and Wes Curtis are among the inductees.

Gary Colford of Upper Blackville has been a well-known and much sought-after guide on both the Miramichi and Cains Rivers almost since he began his career in 1965.

His prowess and enthusiasm for the art of salmon fishing are paralleled only by his ability to instill in others the same joy of the sport.

Wes Curtis. (Photo provided by Derek Munn)

Wes Curtis with sport. (Photo provided by Derek Munn)

In his long career, Wesley Curtis of Gray Rapids has worked for most of the well-known outfitters on the Miramichi and on the Cains, and is now Head Guide at Mountain Channel.

Fishing with “Wes” is acknowledged by many to be the highlight of their visit to the Miramichi.

The remaining inductees are Harry Whitfield Bradbury of Woodstock, George Angus McFarland of East Glassville, Joseph Gilbert Roussel of McNamee amd Ronald Martin Stewart of Taymouth.

Tickets for the October 1 Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony are now on sale for $75 each but with only a limited number available, it’s wise to reserve yours quickly.

For more information or to reserve your tickets, please contact the Atlantic Salmon Museum at 506-365-7787 or at .

For more information about the Atlantic Salmon Museum, please visit their website at

Miramichi River Valley

Miramichi River Valley

The Rural Community of Miramichi River Valley is governed by an elected council made up of a mayor and six councillors.

Leave a Comment